animatedadventuresofasouthernbelle

Just another WordPress.com site

Oh My! I forgot I even HAD a blog!! May 15, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — aasouthernbelle @ 1:47 pm
Tags: , , , ,

Ok, so thanks to my cousin, I’m posting again.  I didn’t think anyone actually read my blog, so I just quit posting.  Apparently, that’s not the case, as I am now assured I have one reader.  Thanks, Cuz.

So, with that said, I should update all on my life.

Cary  Playwrights’ Forum is doing a summer show where several local playwrights’ work will be displayed (as in acted out).  I’m in two of the shows, so I’ve been fairly busy lately with rehearsals.  I also signed up for my company’s softball team, and I regret it on a weekly basis.  (We have 1 game a week).  It’s just all so time consuming, and I want to be at home a little, too!!

But, it will all be over by July, and then it will be my 29th birthday.  I don’t want to turn 29.  Twenty-nine scares me.

Ok, so in respect of the name of this blog, I will write a bit about my garden and other southern things.  I am looking for nice quilts for my bedding.  I keep finding these super thin quilts, and I can’t help but wonder “what happened to all of the nice thick quilts like my grandparents used to have?”, and like my grandmother still has.  I just want to find some really nice thick quilts, but I fear that it may come down to being forced to learn how to quilt.  Isn’t it enough that I’ve begun to crochet again?  No, obviously not.  Obviously to get anything of quality in this world, you must make it yourself.

For the past several weekends, I have spent most of my time in my yard.  I have a vegetable garden in the back yard, which I should take pictures of and post for all of you (meaning the one person that I know is reading).  My tomatoes look beautiful, and the green beans are glorious.  The peppers are also looking great, and some of the hot peppers are already starting to produce fruit.  The zucchinis look like some type of plant on steroids, as they are just growing out like the crazy melon-type-squashy plant that they are.  (Yes, zucchinis and melons have the same type of root structures – a LOT of roots).  The cucumbers, however, look awful.  I planted five plants, and only two survive.  Both of them are the same size now as they were when I put them in the ground about a month ago.  Yes, these poor little cucumbers just don’t want to grow, so I’ve started some more seeds in hopes that before the end of summer I can put about 5 more plants into the garden where they will grow and prosper, and then I can learn how to make pickles.

In other news, I’ve been on a diet now (weight watchers) for the past month and a half.  I’ve lost 10 pounds, which isn’t really all that much, and I’m beginning to think that if I really want to lose weight I’m going to have to start working out as well.  I wouldn’t mind “working out” if it weren’t for the fact that I’m still dealing with chronic pain.  I woke up this morning barely able to move for the pain in my neck and back.  Luckily, I have a chiropractor appointment in the morning, so he should be able to help.  I’m hoping that in the next few weeks I will continue to get better as far as the pain is concerned, as I am better than I was several months ago.  Hopefully between the jaw doctor and the chiropractor, I’ll be pain free very soon.

I think that’s all for now, but I’ll come back and add more soon, since I now know that someone out there is reading this.

 

3 Responses to “Oh My! I forgot I even HAD a blog!!”

  1. Rebecca Anderson Says:

    Very much love you!!! I hope your pain continues to get better and that your plants start growing as well. You’re just a wonderful homemaker it seems. 🙂 I look toward to hearing about the quilt you start making, you should go to a quilting club thing. Lol. I read this to Gentry on our way to Missouri for a wedding- he said it was a good story. Love and miss you. 🙂

    • Wait, are you saying that you are on your way to a wedding right now, and that you read this to Gentry today on your way? As in, now TWO people have read my blog?! Oh my gosh!! You make me want to post more so badly! And, by the way, I didn’t actually say that I’m going to start quilting. I said that I MAY have to start quilting. Cuz, I don’t even know how to use my sewing machine. And I have a throw that I’ve been crocheting since January. Then again, I have been very busy, and I haven’t worked on the crocheted throw in about 3 months, but whatever.

  2. Russell Says:

    I have read it, so it is now the blog is on a streak!


Leave a Reply

