animatedadventuresofasouthernbelle

Just another WordPress.com site

Weekend Update May 21, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — aasouthernbelle @ 4:10 pm
Tags:

I don’t really know what to write about today, but I realize that I haven’t written in a couple of days, so I’m hoping that something will magically come to me.  This past weekend I worked in my flower beds and garden for a long time.  It was wonderful, until I woke up the next day and my entire body hurt.  Chronic pain is no fun.  I’ll have a day with less pain than others or a lower number on the “pain scale”, so I take advantage of it, and I get things finished that I’ve been unable to finish previously.  Inevitably, every time this happens, I regret all forms of work the next several days.  I don’t know what is wrong with my body.  Can’t someone out there fix me?

My flower beds and garden look fabulous, though.  It makes me smile every time I see them.  Below is a sketch that I did in Microsoft Paint of my yard.

The big orange spots are the spots that still need work.  I finished the 4 purple sections, which are all “flower beds” this past weekend.  I also finished the “Blueberry Bushes” section of the yard.  The vegetable garden gets watered and looked at daily, but I also weeded the area this weekend.  The purple flower bed in the back yard (the brown lines are the fence) has been a LOT of work.  I’m seriously ready to hurt the dogs for continuously digging in it, but that’s the whole reason I put it there.  The dogs had dug that area up so much, that there was nothing but dirt.  Then every time it rained it was just this HUGE mud hole.  So I planted things there to try to 1. contain the mud, and 2. keep the dogs out.  But it’s only done the former, and I’m continually having to smack the dogs to get out of the spot.  The orange is where we have trees.  The former owners decided to make a HUGE “no grass” area around all trees on either side of the sidewalk.  I, however, would like to have several different “no grass but mulch instead” areas around the trees, because I like grass.  So instead of the entire left side of my yard having almost no grass, I would like it to have more.  But right now all of the “no grass” areas are completely filled with WEEDS, and not just any weeds but poison oak and all sorts of other weeds.  I sprayed a little over a week ago, but they’re still there.  If the weather is nice this next weekend then I’ll get out there and start working on the orange spots.  Since most of the right side is finished except for the orange spots, that’s probably where I’ll begin.  Then at least half of my yard will look nice.  Of course, then they’ll keep driving and see the rest, and all will change.

In other news, I’ve been better since I started back on my appropriate medication.  I do wish that I could live a medicine free life, but I don’t think that’s going to happen.  I am scared for when Hubs and I decide to start a family though.  What am I going to do while pregnant and breastfeeding?

 

One Response to “Weekend Update”

  1. Wondering what to do while pregnant and breastfeeding does worry me. I’m not planning on getting pregnant any time soon, but I would love children one day and the idea of living without pain pills (along with anti-depressants) terrifies me. I worry how I’d possibly be a bad mother as a result.

    Saying that though… life does come with many surprises, and I’m led to believe that the natural hormones created by pregnancy does reduce pain a little. I’d guess that the feel-good hormones released by breast-feeding would also help; it’s a natural painkiller.

    Got to hate those days where all you can do is whine in pain because you did something the day before… I relate. Still, sounds like you did a great job!


Leave a Reply

