animatedadventuresofasouthernbelle

Just another WordPress.com site

That awkward moment when… Oh wait! That’s life! September 10, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — aasouthernbelle @ 3:18 pm

Quite a bit has been going on lately.  Our AC broke over 2 weeks ago.  Now, I realize that some people live in parts of the world where they don’t even have air conditioning in their homes.  It’s not needed!!  This is NOT the case in North Carolina.  Let’s look at the weather for the past 2 weeks:

Now, if that’s too small for you to see, allow me to elaborate.  The highest high over the past two weeks was 94 degrees Fahrenheit, and the lowest “lo” was 65.  Mind you, that 65 was over night, and the high the next day was 87, so that didn’t last long.  Now, the average high temperature was 88 degrees, and the average lo was 71 degrees.  Now, if that 71 were a more permanent temperature, I probably wouldn’t have been miserable during this time, but it wasn’t a steady 70 something degrees.  Instead it was a steady high 80-something degrees with it cooling down a BIT at night.  Hubs did get a window unit for the bedroom.  Something similar to below:

It only cooled the bedroom, though, and we had to leave the bedroom door closed for it to even do that much.  So the past two weeks, when I was at home, my time was spent hiding in my bedroom because it was the only room in the house cool enough to sit in without sweating constantly.

On the plus side, the AC repair men are at the house today while Hubs works from home, and they are installing a brand-spankin’ new system.  They will go in and fix the ducts.  The heating pump will be new, which means that our power bill will hopefully go down during the cool winter months.  All will be new, and all will be fabulous.  They will not finish installing the new system today, as they anticipate it will take 2 days, but tomorrow evening, when I walk in the door after work, I will be walking into an air-conditioned home, and I am so excited about this.

In other news, I have gained almost all my weight back from doing Weight Watchers a few months ago.  I had lost about 15 lbs, but I’ve gained back 13 of them.  It’s quite difficult to lose and keep it off when I can’t work out.  I would like to start working out again, but my back hasn’t allowed it up to now.  I did go see an orthopedist last week; however, no new information has been noted.  He did some general tests to see if it was obviously a brain tumor or something, which it isn’t.  Then he said that I need to get an MRI, and afterward I’ll go back and see him to discuss what the MRI shows.  He also gave me a prescription strength anti-inflammatory that seems to do wonders.  I have to make sure I eat when I take it, as it’s very strong, and it messes with my stomach otherwise.  It’s called Nabumetone.  They apparently use it for arthritis patients normally, but if it works, it works.  And so far I really like it.  It does make me a bit drowsy, though, but I’m sure with a bit of caffeine, I’ll get over that!

So that’s what’s up with my back.  I’m wondering if I can start working out since the Nabumetone seems to help so much, but I’m not sure.  I’m not completely pain free, but I wonder if I ever will be, honestly.  Perhaps this is as pain free as my life is meant to be.  I guess we’ll see after the MRI, but right now the doctor is having to argue with my insurance company to make that happen.

So what else has been happening?  Let’s see… my job still sucks ROYALLY.  I met with Boss Man (BM) a few weeks ago to discuss the fact that I never have enough work to do, and I am continually bored.  He said that he would speak to some people about getting some work to me, but that hasn’t proven very fruitful as of yet.  I still managed to have enough time to watch a season of The Big Bang Theory, read a book on Amazon Cloud Reader, and teach myself a bit more SQL all during “work” hours.  It’s very frustrating having to come in every day only to sit here and do nothing.  While I enjoy the occasional slow day, I seriously dislike when “slow days” are the norm.  He is aware, however, that I’m free almost ALL the time, so perhaps he’ll begin finding me things to do a bit more.  One can only hope.

 

Leave a Reply

